hidden

You will love the city: the expectations and reality of a foreigner in Ukraine

The Premier hotel chain has conducted an experiment, the idea of ​​which is to show Ukraine with its tourist realities through the eyes of a guest who is discovering the country. Premier organized a contest and invited a foreigner who, traveling, will share his impressions without filters.
Ukraine for foreigners in most cases is the Klitschko brothers and Andriy Shevchenko, the Ukrainian agency Banda, which recently broke into this list, having received the Kanes lion for Eurovision branding and a bold decision Ukraine Now. But besides that? What do tourists see and feel when they come to our country?
Our hero Richard Benton is an American from Minnesota, who first came to Ukraine in 1993 and learned Ukrainian during an exchange year in Kiev.
Kiev
before
On my first visit 25 years ago from Boryspil, I was traveling by bus. Before leaving, the driver waited until the bus was full; this could go on for as long as possible.
Previously, people on the streets were very gloomy, it did not even occur to me to talk to a passerby. Units spoke English. Everywhere there were kiosks where all sorts of nonsense were sold, products that were very strange to me as an American. In kiosks with pirated discs, I bought a lot - “Ruki Vverh!”, for example. There were a lot of people on the streets and few cars. I did not know a single person who had his own car.
after
From the airport to the city I quickly got on the new train.
On the streets, people became smiling and friendly. I conducted an experiment: asked passers-by questions in English. It was pleasantly surprised that even those who did not speak it still tried to help me. Everywhere you can find convenient supermarkets that work even at night.
In 1993, St. Andrew’s Church was under repair. I saw that they were repairing it too. However, I hope that this is not the same, but another repair.
In the Bessarabian market with ease paid credit card. On the streets only new foreign cars. How can this be?
Lviv
before
Lviv has always been a quiet city, cultural capital. Only here to get from Kiev was not so easy. When I first came to Ukraine in the 90s, there were coupes and reserved seats. It seems to me that the reserved seat could exist only in the Soviet Union, I have never seen this anywhere else. It looked frightening; you didn’t know if your things were stolen while you were sleeping. Previously, people took food with them on the road. Now, if you get hungry on the train, you can get something tasty there.
after
Traffic is the first indicator of change in the country. Modern Ukrainian Intercity - is comfort, saving time and money.
Now the whole city is a real tourist center. I lived in the hotel Premier Hotel Dnister, the view from which I was impressed with Lviv. In Lviv, there is something to see, and the prices are much lower. For example, a bottle of decent beer is even cheaper than a bottle of water. For 500 hryvnia, you can have dinner together in a good restaurant. In Europe or America it is almost impossible to do this.
There are many public spaces. In 1993, we didn’t have such a thing, there wasn’t even any place to drink coffee and talk for a long time. Therefore, we went to visit. Our disco at that time was when a tape recorder was loudly running in a dorm room. Now there are cozy cafes and restaurants at every step in Lviv .
Kharkov
before
Kharkiv has a reputation as an industrial city. The first Ukrainian capital is known for large enterprises and factories, monumental buildings. Nobody traveled to Kharkov.
after
Stereotypes are not justified. Kharkiv is big, energetic and interesting.
From Lviv to Kharkiv I flew by plane. There is no direct flight, you need to fly with a short transfer in Kiev, but still got pretty quickly. I liked that the tickets were not much more expensive than the train. True for the breakfast had to pay separately and a lot.
Kharkiv attracts foreigners, especially students. I heard that education is inexpensive compared to European, here is affordable housing, many universities, whose diplomas are recognized in many countries.
I would like to visit Kharkiv yet. Everywhere posters - in the spring there are a lot of open-air events here: picnics, festivals, even concerts of world stars.

hidden

Город должен нравиться: ожидания и реальность иностранца в Украине

Сеть отелей Premier провела эксперимент, идея которого - показать Украину с ее туристическими реалиями глазами гостя, который открывает для себя страну. Premier организовал конкурс и пригласил иностранца, который, путешествуя, поделится своими впечатлениями без фильтров.
Украина для иностранцев в большинстве случаев - это братья Кличко и Андрей Шевченко, украинское агентство Banda, которое недавно ворвалась в этот список, получив Канского льва за брендинг Евровидения и смелое решение Ukraine Now. Но кроме этого? Что видят и чувствуют туристы, приезжая в нашу страну?
Наш герой Ричард Бентон - американец из Миннесоты, который в 1993-м впервые попал в Украину и выучил украинский язык в течение года обучения по обмену в Киеве.
Киев
до
В мой первый приезд 25 лет назад из Борисполя я ехал на автобусе. Перед тем, как отправиться, водитель ждал, пока автобус заполнится, это могло продолжаться сколько угодно.
Раньше люди на улицах были очень мрачными, заговорить с прохожим даже не приходило в голову. На английском говорили единицы. Везде были киоски, где продавались всякие глупости, очень странные для меня, как американца, продукты. В киосках с пиратскими дисками я многое покупал - «Руки Вверх!», например. На улицах было много людей и мало машин. Я не знал ни одного человека, у которого был бы собственный автомобиль.
после
Из аэропорта в город я быстро добрался на новой электричке.
На улицах люди стали улыбающимися и приветливыми. Провел эксперимент: задавал прохожим вопросы на английском. Приятно удивило, что даже те, кто не говорит на нем, все равно пытались мне помочь. Везде можно найти удобные супермаркеты, которые работают даже ночью.
В 1993 году Андреевская церковь была на ремонте. Я видел, что сейчас ее тоже ремонтируют. Однако надеюсь, что это не тот, а уже другой ремонт.
На Бессарабском рынке с легкостью рассчитался кредиткой. На улицах только новые иностранные машины. Как такое может быть?
Львов
до
Львов всегда был спокойным городом, культурной столицей. Только вот добраться из Киева было не так просто. Когда я впервые попал в Украину в 90-х, были купе и плацкарт. Мне кажется, что плацкарт мог существовать только в Союзе, я больше нигде такого не видел. Выглядел он устрашающе, ты не знал, украдут ли твои вещи, пока будешь спать. Раньше люди брали с собой еду в дорогу. Теперь, если проголодался в поезде, можешь приобрести там что-то вкусное.
после
Транспортное сообщение - первый индикатор изменений в стране. Современные украинские Интерсити - это комфорт, экономия времени и денег.
Теперь весь город - настоящий туристический центр. Жил в гостинице Premier Hotel Dnister, вид с которого на Львов меня впечатлил. Во Львове есть на что посмотреть, а цены значительно ниже. Например, бутылка приличного пива стоит даже дешевле, чем бутылка воды. За 500 гривен можно вдвоем поужинать в хорошем ресторане. В Европе или в Америке сделать это практически невозможно.
Появилось много общественных пространств. В 1993-м у нас такого не было, не было даже заведений, чтобы выпить кофе и долго разговаривать. Поэтому мы ходили в гости. Наши тогдашние дискотеки - это когда громко работает магнитофон в комнате общежития. Теперь во Львове на каждом шагу уютные кафе и ресторанчики.
Харьков
до
У Харькова репутация индустриального города. Первая украинская столица известна крупными предприятиями и заводами, монументальными сооружениями. Путешествовать в Харьков никто не ездил.
после
Стереотипы не оправдали себя. Харьков большой, энергичный и интересный.
Из Львова в Харьков я прилетел самолетом. Прямого рейса нет, нужно лететь с короткой пересадкой в ​​Киеве, но все равно добрался довольно быстро. Понравилось, что билеты стоили не намного дороже, чем на поезд. Правда за завтрак пришлось заплатить отдельно и немало.
Харьков влечет иностранцев, особенно студентов. Я слышал, что образование стоит недорого по сравнению с европейской, здесь доступное жилье, множество университетов, чьи дипломы признаются во многих странах.
Я бы хотел посетить Харьков еще. Везде афиши - весной здесь происходит множество мероприятий под открытым небом: пикники, фестивали, даже концерты мировых звезд.